3rd April 1925

General Election in Northern Ireland

Sir James Craig, the prime minister of Northern Ireland, called an election in 1925. The Ulster Unionists saw losses in this election, however they still retained their majority.

Changing their policy of abstention in Northern Ireland elections, Nationalists such as Joseph Devlin, decided to stand as they feared that, as Devlin put it, "Permanent abstention means permanent disfranchisement." Joseph Devlin and T.S. McAllister were the first Nationalists to take their seats in the Northern Ireland parliament.

Ten Nationalists were returned in the election with two abstaining members of Sinn Féin.

Partition, Unionism, Nationalism, Republicanism
Belfast Labour poster.
Deputy Keeper of Records, PRONI D1514/2/6