24th May 1921

Northern and Southern Ireland Elections

Elections to the new parliaments created by the Government of Ireland Act were held in May 1921. In Northern Ireland the Ulster Unionists, now headed by Sir James Craig who succeeded Edward Carson after his resignation in February, won 40 of the 52 seats. Craig was appointed the prime minister of Northern Ireland.

Sinn Féin won 124 of the 128 seats in the Southern Ireland Parliament. However, they refused to recognise the Government of Ireland Act and instead used the elected members to populate the Second Dáil. At the state opening of the Southern Ireland Parliament only four Unionist MPs and 15 senators turned up; the Parliament was suspended.

Parliament, Unionism, Nationalism, Republicanism, Partition
Group including Michael Collins on election platform as candidate for South Armagh.
Deputy Keeper of Records, PRONI D2886/A/2/4/12